Ironman USA Lake Placid 2008 – I’m in!

Luck, Fortune, Life… More Iron

To whom I owe this, I do not know. To whom it could be, I know not to guess. All I need is the feeling in my heart, where goodness flows within and luck reigns supreme.

Luck is there, I feel it, I own it, right next to good fortune, living secure and at bay, as if a power guiding my light, one that is calmly directed by my very own hand. Confused, I shake my head and wonder who could it be, the power behind the direction, why me, and even how.

The feeling says to worry not about who’s leading the way, that I should follow challenge and excitement, where if I do, and if I dream big, and if I stay true to myself and the task at hand, the right path will always be ahead, as if to rise up to greet me.

So I step forward, farther along, along the path of recommitting and intense focus, and follow the hand that shines the light towards dreams of the very Iron that is draped in red, white, and blue.

I will point my good ship USS Wisconsin directly toward the hills of the tiny upstate New York town of Lake Placid and meet the road that has risen before me – the road that is Ironman USA. For as of today, I am registered for Ironman USA Lake Placid 2008.

But before I go there, I will take some time to reflect on where I have been, on why I have had such good luck and good fortune for good Iron. I will study the words “race of a lifetime” and examine why I associate them with the memory that was Coeur d’Alene.

For a while longer I will leave posted on my office walls course maps of CdA, just to cement the amazing feeling, and all other items that spell a great race. I will take time to enjoy the rest of the short triathlon season remaining; I will bring out my “bunny ears” for a few marathons; and then, come of winter, I will recommit toward loftier dreams, pointed to by the rays of the light leading the way.

Thank you to who, what, how and why, and to Luck, Fortune, and Life.

Because it’s all good. Every single part of it.

Ironman Lake Placid, here I come!

Leave a Reply

