Injury Update

This sucker got me good… I’m still injured.

At this point the injury has gotten better, but it’s still limiting and even draining. It is limiting in that my run mileage is down, considerably, and I’m not able to hit pace. It is draining in that I have to put out a great amount of effort to hit an even basic, slow pace. Not sure how that works, but I’m guessing that even though the injury sometimes feels better (but still there) it is, well, still there with my body having to compensate, and the only way that happens is with me putting out more energy.

I’ve been laying low for the most part, trying to heal this, but so far the doctors progrnosis for a full heal has been spot on: it’s a pesky injury that will be frustratingly and perhaps even excruciatingly slow to heal. And there’s not much I can do to speed it along. Not even full rest would do it.

At this point I’m also preparing myself mentally for all sorts of outcomes. If I cannot get the injury to go completely away by May time frame, give or take a bunch of weeks, I may toss in the towel on my June Ironman. Even if I could slug through the marathon, if I can’t get to my previous level, I will likely bail. The idea is to compete, not just complete. And if I can’t compete for a Kona slot, then it is not worth it for me to continue through the rigors of Ironman training, or even half Iron training.

And so I am preparing for the worst but hopeful for the best.

Either way things turn out, it has been a very good run for me. I have achieved far more than I ever dreamed in this sport, so if I have to toss in the towel on a race or two or even the entire season, I will still hold my head high and plan to come back even better.

If the injury doesn’t get considerably better soon, the hard task moving forward will be when to make that call. I don’t want to wait too long where I’ve already commit time and money in a trip to Coeur d’Alene, but I also have to be smart and honest with myself.

Stay well!

3 Responses to Injury Update

  1. We’re all missing you out there Dude. Ba patient. Keep healing!

  2. Raquel says:

    Hey Thor: Sorry to hear that the injury is still hanging around. Hang in there!

  3. Stitcher says:

    Pesky, persistent injuries bite! I may be in the throes of one, and it’s the head game that’s getting to me the most at this point.
    Hang tuff!

Leave a Reply

