Training Week 4/18

Training for the week 4/18 through 4/24:

This week wasn’t about training; it was about running (and recovering from) the Boston Marathon.

Monday, the first day of the week, started with the Boston Marathon. Coming into the race, my goal was to live the life, run the race without further injuring the calf or creating a new injury in the hamstring, and experience again the magic that is the Boston Marathon. And I did just that, finishing the race in 3:08:37, with an average pace of 7:11. This was my 62nd marathon and 8th in as many months. I was happy to not only get the race in but also do it in a Boston Qualifying time while not injuring anything any further. Not a race to write home about, as I took easy effort into this and held throughout, but certainly a fun time.

The remainder of the week was filled with leg-stretching runs and tending to the calf. I have been joking with my running friends when they ask how the calf is feeling post-marathon. I say, “I learned the way to heel a calf injury. Go run a marathon.” My calf hasn’t felt this good since the day it popped in Washington DC!

So good the calf felt that later in the week I even did a trail run, my first of the year. This get me excited about the upcoming USATF-NE Mountain Race Series beginning in May. Not that I wasn’t excited before, but whenever I get injured or have a set back that feels real, as in long-term, I have a way of not looking too far forward. So to be able to look ahead like this was nice.

The week went something like this:

Mon: Boston Marathon, 26.2 miles, 3:08:37
Tues: 1 mile Keep-the-Streak-Alive run
Wed: 3 mile Leg-Stretcher, easy
Thurs: 3 mile Leg-Stretcher, easy – Legs finally coming around
Fri: 3.5 mile easy, felt much better in legs and body and calf!
Sat: 8 mile social run
Sun: 6 mile social run + 3+ mile trail run

Focus of the upcoming week will be continuing to recover from Boston, continuing tending to the calf, and start into my mountain training with hill and/or Treadmill Incline sessions and perhaps even hit up Blue Hills or Wachsetts by week end.

Leave a Reply

