Training Week 5/30

Training for the week 5/30 to 6/5 was a non-starter, even crappy.

After running the rock pile known as Mount Washington last Sunday, the week started with an avalanche of allergies that caved on my energy, sinuses, and even added body aches including those in the head. It wasn’t a fun week.

And since I was at a great point to throw in a rest week, that is exactly what I did. Which may sound like the smart thing to do — and I suppose it was had I had a choice — but, to be honest, the rest did nothing. My body is still sore, even more than before, and the allergies are still dragging me down. Though the good thing is that my energy has mostly returned in full by the end of the week.

Which was good because, well, Sunday was Pack Monadnock 10 Miler, race number three in the USATF-NE Mountain Circuit.

Which wasn’t so good because although I actually felt human for the race, I ran really, really, really slow.

The non-week went like this:

Mon: 4 miles social, easy – w/Heather – low energy
Tues: 5.65 miles social, easy – low energy
Wed: 4 miles – low energy, body hammered
Thurs: 5 miles social, trails – low energy, body sore
Fri: 5 miles solo – energy better, body still sore
Sat: 3 miles solo – energy better, body still sore
Sun: 13 miles total, Pack Monadnock 10 Miler, 1:19

Not so good a week.

Goal for next week is to get in a few quality workouts, hopefully on Tuesday for Treadmill Incline or Wednesday for hill repeats, or on Thursday with Jay, my TransRockies mate, and another good workout on the weekend.

Although I am still hampered by allergies, I think my energy is back to good. The worrisome part for me is the body. It is feeling beat up. Just general soreness that is having an effect. Maybe it was the Hill Immersion training and how I kept extending it week after week. Time will tell.

Have a great week, runner friends!

Leave a Reply

