Training Week 2/13

Training for the week 2/13 through 2/19 went well. The goal was mid-week speed session with longer intervals for closer-to-marathon pace work. As a bonus, I also got in a solid long run with some more speed, all of which have me confident for a shot at Sub-3 hours in Hyannis.

I say “confident” for a shot at a three hour marathon, but what I really mean is that I am confident in my ability to race hard at an aggressive pace, and I really feel as if I can hold on longer that I did in Ocala a few weeks ago.

I am not any faster, per se, but with some marathon pace work between the events, and with a more smooth paced effort per mile in race, I feel I can hold on yet longer… and maybe for 26.2 miles!

Either way, as long as weather holds for this C-turned-B race (A being a race that you set your season around), I will give it my all.

Week 2/13:

Mon: 4 miles, easy – road
Tues: 7.5 miles, easy social (plus 3 hill repeats) – road
Wed: 14 miles, speed 3 x 3 mile – track
Thurs: 5 miles, easy – road
Fri: 3.5 miles, easy – road
Sat: 16 miles, speed (6 x 2min @5K, + 4.5 miles @ 7:00) — road
Sun 1: 5.5 miles, easy social — trail
Sun 2: 8 miles, easy-to-pace work – trail

Total miles: 63

Quality workouts…

Wednesday: 14 mile run speed session at local track in 1:46:
o WU – 2 mile jog to track
o 3 x 3 miles @ 6:30 pace w/half mile recovery jog
o CD – 2 mile jog to tempo back home
*Splits were:
1 – 6:31, 6:28, 6:28
2 – 6:28, 6:33, 6:31
3 – 6:40, 6:42, 6:39
**Pretty weak splits on the that last three mile interval. You can tell that lactate was building. By then I was at around 9 miles in, so understandable.

Saturday: 16 mile run with speed intervals as follows:
o WU – 5 miles – Sub 8:00 pace
o 6 x 2 min @ 5K pace on the mile (pick up starts each mile from 5 to 10)
o 4.5 miles @ 7:00 pace or under
o CD – 1 mile
*Total run was 2:04 including water stops (I let clock run), avg pace according to one was 7:38.

With Hyannis on Sunday, the goal for the coming week will be to chill the heck out so that I hit the starting line feeling spunky and fast. Call it a one week taper.

If weather turns such that it has an impact on performance, I will not race; weak, I know, but truth is that Hyannis hit my race schedule only a few weeks ago, and when it did it entered as a C race. But since I ran well in Ocala, and since I had a few good weeks of work, I upgraded the race from C to B.

I am ready to lay down the law!

Leave a Reply

