Training Week 5/28

Training for the week 5/28 to 6/3 was light and easy with a focus on recovering from Pineland Farms 50 Miler so that I can most seamlessly move to the next phase of my training for the Canadian Death Race.

Early and midweek was easy and short. I still had a few niggles leftover from Pineland Farms, so I was hoping to milk the down time to also heal up those trouble areas. By end of week, I not only got rid of three lingering issues, but my legs were also coming back strong.

Heading into the week, my only goal was to do something on trails and make sure it was fun. I figured I’d log 2 hours, 2.5 max. I wound up doing the Skyline Trail at Blue Hills (9 mile one way trip, 18 for out and back, for a total of ~3600 feet of elevation) in the pouring rain, and because I was having so much fun even though going was slow and slippery on the exposed rock, I went longer than expected. And that’s okay, because there will be weeks ahead where I wind up going shorter than expected.

All in all, a good week — I recovered and went long!

Week 5/28

Mon: 1 mile keep-the-streak-alive run, easy – road
Tues: 5.65 miles, social – road
Wed: 4 miles, easy – road
Thurs: 5 miles, easy start, honest middle to finish – road
Fri: 7 miles, honest effort – trail
Sat: 18 miles, Blue Hills Skyline Trail in 4:33 (rain made slow go) – trail
Sun: 6 miles, social – trail

Total miles: 47 miles

Quality Workouts

Saturday: 18 mile on Skyline Trail @ Blue Hills Reservation in 4:33 in down pouring rain:
o OUT – 2:26WU
o BACK – 2:07
*~3600 feet of ascent

Next Week

Goal for the coming week will be to get in two Treadmill Incline Runs midweek in preparation for Mt. Washington Road Race in two shorts weeks, and on the weekend head up to Mount Lafeyette, for a few peaks assuming weather is good enough, for a long mountain run with serious elevation.

Leave a Reply

