Training Week 8/13

Training for the week 8/13 to 8/19 was about recovering from the Canadian Death Race so that I could start up at a later week (next?) with  speed in my workouts. The only real goal was to get back to social runs and perhaps insert a tempo run to test the legs. And that’s exactly what I did. On top of that, I also got back to long runs on the roads, and although my legs felt heavy from around mile 8 on, my fitness easily carried me for duration.

Focus in my workouts this time of year and into the beginning of fall will be speed. I have just signed up for the Smuttynose Marathon, which takes place the end of Sept. I won’t have enough time to train to stomp this, but I will do what I can to at least lay down a decent time.

Week 8/13

Mon: 3 miles, easy – road
Tues: 5.65 miles, social – road
Wed: 4 miles, easy – road
Thurs: 5.5 miles, social – road
Fri: 4 miles, tempo – road
Sat: 17 miles, social + tempo, w/3 @ 6:40 + 4 @ 6:50 – road
Sun: 18.5 miles, social – road

Total miles: 57 miles

Quality Workouts

Saturday: 17 mile run in 2:18 (includes stops)
o WU – 8 miles social
o 3 miles @ 6:40 pace
o 2 miles recovery jog
o 4 miles @ 6:50 pace
*Friend’s workout — just kept her company. First real run since the Death Race.

Sunday: 18.5 mile hilly run in 2:53 (let clock run through stops) w/Clock Striders.

Next Week

Goal for the coming week will be to continue stretching (numbness in toes finally subsiding though still there) and get in, at minimum, at least a weak session of speed.

Leave a Reply

