Training Week 9/17

Training for the week 9/17 to 9/23 was about tapering for a shot at going sub-3 hours at Smuttynose. Although I had wanted a bit more quality in the week, I had to pass it up due to a chronic lower back issue that has been proving pesky and entirely bothersome.

Worrisome was that en route home after a mid-week mild speed session, my right hip tightened, which cause my right calf to seize a few times. I have since found better stretches and am actively trying to get the back in shape.

The back to this point hasn’t exactly limited me, mainly because of it being a taper week, but I fear it could after, say, mile 18 at Smuttynose.

Either way, I know well enough that race day adrenaline can smooth over many pains and miss-alignments, so I am still holding out hope for a kick ass race. But I am worried.

Week 9/17

Mon: 5 miles, easy – road
Tues: 5.65 miles, social – road
Wed: 9 miles, including 2 miles @ 6:00 pace + 1 mi @ 5:45 – road
Thurs: 6 miles @ Ward, social – trail
Fri: 6.5 miles, social – road
Sat: 11 miles, including 3 miles @ 6:20 pace – road
Sun: 6 miles @ Ward, social – trail

Total miles: 42 miles

Quality Workouts

Wednesday: 9 mile “tapered” speed session in 1:07:
o WU – 2.5 mile run to park (19:27)
o 2 miles @ 6:00 (actual: 6:01, 5:55) w/.5 mile jog
o 1 mile @ 5:44
o CD – 3+ mile run home
*Last speed before Smuttynose. Had to wrestle the mind early on. Felt good when running fast but just okay otherwise even though I hit my paces.
**Lower back starting to act up. Been spending a lot of time doing projects around the house requiring me to kneel, which is never good. Did 1.5 hours like that after work yesterday, so back now at a peak in pain and discomfort. Kind of sucks because I’ve been running so strong and feeling so good.

Saturday: 11 mile run:
o WU – 5.5 miles @ 8:00 pace
o 3 miles @ 6:20
o 2.5 miles jog
*3 mile pace was more like 6:25 for .5 miles, 6:45 for .5 miles, then 6:00 to 5:45 for 2 miles.

Next Week

Goal for the coming week will be to get the back in order so that I can lay down the law at Smuttynose.

Beer of the Week

Slumbrew Flag Raiser IPA – Stocked at 80 IBU (the higher the number the more hoppy), Flag Raiser is a solid IPA hopped to goodness. It comes in at 7.5% alcohol and is only sold in bomber bottles — it is a “big” beer. Flag Raiser is another IPA that although not my favorite is pretty darn good where I find myself going back to it time and again. Flowery to the nose at first, the taste is typical hops with a hint of something that I think is due to the pilsner malt added — malt profile: 2-Row Pale, Belgian Pilsner and Munich Malts. But don’t get me wrong… this is no pils. Aftertaste is ruled by a buttery flavor that I am not a huge fan of, and that I taste in some other beers, but again, don’t let that detract from this very good beer. It reminds me more of a Dale’s Pale Ale over something like Racer 5 or Centennial.

Leave a Reply

