Training Week 9/24

Training for the week 9/24 to 9/30 was about short, easy runs and trying to get my chronic lower back issues, which had recently flared up, in order for a shot at going sub-3 hours at Smuttynose by week’s end.

Please to say that although my back worried me, with it having locked up my calf the week before when I tried to run hard, I spent the week stretching and trying to loosen the hip (made tight by the back). I stayed positive, visualized myself running strong on race day, and did all the right things to get myself to feel as ready as ever.

On race day, I gave everything I had. I was on pace for sub-3 or very damn near until the last mile, when I willed myself to run faster. All I needed was to run mile 25 through to the end at 6:00 pace… and I couldn’t do it. My lungs would not allow. I was already maxed out and could give nothing more.

Finish came in 3:00:36. It was a great, gutsy race by me, and I’m proud of myself for taking chances early, in the middle, and late and holding on to the end.

Week 9/24

Mon: 4 miles, tempo – road
Tues: 5.65 miles, social – road
Wed: 4 miles, easy w/few strides – road
Thurs: 5 miles, easy – road
Fri: 3.5 miles, easy w/few strides – road
Sat: 3.5 miles, social – road
Sun: Smuttynose Marathon: 3:00:38, 13th place of 1000, 5th AG M40-49, #75 (or maybe 76?) – road (28 miles in total w/wu + race)

Total miles: 53 miles

Quality Workouts

Sunday: Smuttynose Marathon, 3:00:38 (6:54 pace), 13th overall of 1000, 5th place AG M40-49. Marathon #75 (or mabye 76).

Next Week

Goal for the coming week will be to recover from Smuttynose. That’s it!

Beer of the Week

Ommegang Scythe & Sickle — When it comes to Belgian-styled beers, I have always been a huge fan of Ommegang, a tiny but now well-known brewery just outside of Cooperstown in New York. Ommegang does Belgian right, so when I heard about Scythe & Sickle, a limited release by the brewery, being a solid fall beer, I had to try it. And thankfully I did, because I was not disappointed.

Scythe & Sickle was brewed to honor the fall harvest. A typical (but good) Belgian that is stocked but by no means over-powering with malt, this beer brings two worlds together (darker harvest ales + Belgian-styled beers) together rather nicely. It tastes like an Ommegang (read: solid Belgian) with the banana-like earthy notes of the Beligan yeast, yet comes in with a stronger (for a Belgian) malt profile without crossing over into being too heavy.

Beer Advocate users didn’t rate it as high as I thought they would, but no matter, I really enjoyed this beer and would easily pick it up again.

Leave a Reply

