Training Week 4/8

Training for the week 4/8 to 4/14 was about trying to get my body rested and ready for an attempt at what I call the Boston Double, which is running the Boston Marathon twice in one day, the first time from the official finish line to the start, and then jump in the official race for the run from the start in Hopkinton to the finish in Boston.

Although I never felt any better due to a nagging hamstring attachment issue, which makes the body feel more fatigued than it really is, I did lay low by resting and running only easy.

But honestly, I didn’t need the body to feel “ready-set-go” in order to take a shot at achieving the goal crafted several months earlier. I knew I could do it. The only question was: how much would it hurt, and could I do it on my own accord (without being forced to walk)?

Rest this week would give me the answer next week (answer: yes, it did!).

Week 4/8

Mon: 5 miles, slow – road
Tues: 5.65 miles, easy – road
Wed: 4.25 miles, easy – road
Thurs: 3.25 miles, slow – road
Fri: 4 miles, easy, finally feeling better – road
Sat: 2.25 miles easy, slow – road
Sun: 1.25 miles – road

Total miles: 26 miles

Quality Workouts

None

Next Week

Goal for the coming week will be to achieve the goal that is the Boston Double. Mentally I am ready. But phyiscally, will I be there?

Beer of the Week

Sam Adams IPL – Sam Adams doesn’t have a lot of knock-your-socks-off beers, though I want to make clear that this isn’t a knock on Sam Adams. Not only was Sam a key contributor in the craft beer revolution, but Sam also is a staple cannot-go-wrong ale. Sam makes good beers, it’s just that for craft beers, other smaller breweries do much better at the smaller scale. But Sam does make a few bright light type  beers, and for me, Sam’s new IPL, India Pale Lager, as opposed to IPA, is worth a shot. Hoppy enough to please some hopheads, and enough malt flavor to appeal to me, someone who enjoys both IPAs and ESB’s, this beer is one I will go back for.

Leave a comment