Training Week 4/22

Training for the week 4/22 to 4/28 was about recovering from the Boston Double as well as getting mentally and physically ready for the TARC Spring Classic 50K.  Although I never got to the point where I felt recovered from running 53 miles over the Boston Marathon course on Marathon Monday, I didn’t have a choice, as the weekend came anyway. Normally I would have bailed on this spring 50K, but since I am committed to making my summer race, the TARC 100, happen, I showed up with a smile even though my body just was quite ready.

I got exactly what I asked for. The Spring Classic 50K was slow for me, and it hurt more than it should, but it was fun and certainly a good notch in the old belt in my preparations. It was good to log so many quality miles on trails. And my, these trails — in Weston, the exact location (but different course) of the TARC 100 — were as sweet as you get here in the rock and root filled northeast.

And so now I will spend the upcoming week recovering from BOTH races! 🙂

Week 4/22

Mon: 4 miles, easy – road
Tues: 5.65 miles, social – road
Wed: 11 miles, quick/sub-tempo – trails
Thurs: 4 miles, easy – road
Fri: 4 miles, easy – road
Sat: TARC Spring Classic 50K, logged 32 miles in all, 4:57 over trail 50K – trail
Sun: 1 mile keep-the-streak-alive run – road

Total miles: 62 miles

Quality Workouts

Wednesday: 11 miles @ Ward:
Loop 1 – 46:44
Loop 2 – 44:02
*Felt fatigued in body.

Saturday: TARC Spring Classic 50K
5 x 10K lap: 56:04, 56:44, 59:10, 1:00:38, 1:04:35
4:57:09, 21st place overall of 108

Next Week

Goal for the coming week will be to continue recovering from the Boston Double and TARC Spring 50K. Nothing more. Focus will be on stretching and trying to get back some zip in the legs. A middle distanced trail run mid week, too, if I’m feeling good. An otherwise rest week.

Beer of the Week

Boulevard Tank 7 Farmhouse Ale – This Boulevard Brewing Company’s take on a traditional Belgian-style farmhouse ale has become my go-to Belgian when I want to reward myself with a good beer after a worthy occasion. I had Tank 7 when my son was born. I enjoyed Tank 7 again after my Boston Double. And I poured one again after the Spring Classic 50K. Weighing in at 38 IBU’s, a number that seems to be carried higher due to a “big surge of fruity aromatics and grapefruit-hoppy notes, the flavor of this complex, straw-colored ale tapers off to a peppery, dry finish.” And damn, at 8.5% ABV, this beer is one to write home about. Pick it up. You will love it.

Leave a comment