Training Week 4/1

Training for the week 4/1 to 4/7 was about laying low, recovering, and staying out of the way of speed or anything else that might aggravate the hamstring attachment issue I re-injured a few weeks back at the Cupcake race on the beach.

For the most part, I did just that, though I didn’t exactly get myself to feeling any better in the attachment area. Another down week will hopefully get me back in order before the Boston Double on Marathon Monday!

I capped the week off pushing my boy in the jog stroller at Doyle’s Road Race. It was our first race together. We ran 37:57 for 5 miles, which was good for 7:35 minute miles. Not bad considering my first mile was 10 minutes and second wasn’t much faster, while getting stuck all the way in the back of the pack for this 1,600 runner field. Last mile? 6:05 minute miles! We were flying!

Also, stay tuned for something pretty cool. Hint: Boston Globe/boston.com… videographer… Boston Marathon! 🙂

Week 4/1

Mon: 4 miles, slow – road
Tues: 6 miles, easy – road
Wed: 8 miles, easy – road
Thurs: 4.25 miles, slow – road
Fri: 5 miles, easy but better – road
Sat: 11.5 miles in 1:38:58, social – trails
Sun: 6 miles total, Doyle’s Road Race – road

Total miles: 45 miles

Quality Workouts

Sunday: Doyle’s Road Race, 5 miles, 37:57 (7:35 pace)
Splits: 9:47, 14:44, 7:13, 6:05
*Started in back of race, stopped once in first mile, once in second mile. Second mile split was probably 8:30, while mile 3 was likely 6:15. Four had climbing in it, hence the slowdown to 7:13, and five was flying down hill. I dreamed about mile 5 years ago before I ever had a kid.

Next Week

Goal for the coming week will be to lay low and get ready for the Boston Double!

Beer of the Week

Mayflower 5th Year Anniversary Ale — Mayflower Anniversary, a limited-batch release double IPA made with five distinct hop varieties, has to be among my new all-time favorite IPAs. Who doesn’t like a double IPA? And this one, weighing in at 8.2 ABV, is to die for. Head right now to your local liquor store and pick up a 22 oz. bomber of it. You will NOT be disappointed. I promise!

2 Responses to Training Week 4/1

  1. bobmallock says:

    Hey bud, Just double checking. We’re talking about M.J. O’connors on Columbus ave? Sent from my iPad

Leave a comment