Training Week 3/25

Training for the week 3/25 to 3/31 was about getting healthy from an injury sustained during the Race For The Cupcake 5K and, if I did, logging at least 50K in distance on the weekend as a last training run for the Boston Double.

While getting healthy took all week, and while the long, long weekend run was in doubt until Friday, I did both, the latter to the tune of a 35 mile run. On top of that, the run somehow got rid of the hamstring issues (upper and lower). Funny how that sometimes happens!

But the prize for the week was the 35 mile run. Better yet was that I felt in control and ran every step, completing the distance in 4:47 time @ 8:11 pace. I went through marathon in 3:35. I learned that for the Boston Double, which I am doing as training for TARC 100, my key summer race, I’ll want to go a little slower so that I can feel better for the second 26.2.

In addition to all of that, check out this article in which I was mentioned:

Delicious Fun

Folks, that’s what it’s all about!

Week 3/25

Mon: 4 miles, slow, injured – beach
Tues: 3.5 miles, slow, injured – beach
Wed: 8 miles, easy – road
Thurs: 6.5 miles, easy & slow – road
Fri: 4 miles, easy but better – road
Sat: 35 miles in 4:47 (8:11 pace) including marathon in 3:35 – road
Sun: 2+ miles, slow, recovery – road

Total miles: 63 miles

Quality Workouts

Saturday: 35 miles
o OUT – 17.5 miles in 2:26
o BACK – 17.5 miles in 2:21
o Marathon Split: 3:35

Next Week

Goal for the coming week will be to recover from last weekend’s long run. There’s not much else on tap. I have Doyle’s Road Race on Sunday, but I plan to throw it away, mainly because last time I raced — at the Race For The Cupcake a little over a week ago — I got injured, and I don’t want to derail the Boston Double nor TARC 100 that follows. Other than that, I plan to coast from here until Patriot’s Day (Boston Marathon and the Double).

Beer of the Week

Pretty Things Fluffy White Rabbits – Pretty Things sums up this beer far better than I could: “The beer is 8.5% abv, with Saaz, Styrian Goldings and Strisselspalt hops added aplenty. Fluffy mouthfeel: yes, really!  There’s a faint sweetness with tropical fruit undertones. Fluffy White Rabbits is a very ‘Pretty Things’ take on a Triple.” And it’s true. This is a solid take on a Belgium-style hopped up Triple. I will be getting this beer again, although I must say that there are a few better beers out there. Still, it’s worth a try; you will not be disappointed.

Leave a comment